An octet of cutting-edge companies has been named winners of the 9th ispo BrandNew Awards.

The prizes are sponsored by ispo, the Munich-based sports community trade show. They honor innovative products and concepts from up-and-coming manufacturers from all over the world.

This edition’s winners were selected from a pool of 148 applicants from 22 countries. The eight will each receive a free booth at the next ispo, which will take place in Munich on February 1-4, 2004.

All entrants to the contest had to be younger than four years old, never have shown at ispo before, and offer an innovative product or concept.

Thirty-two finalists were also named.

The eight winners and their innovative concepts are:

Lycra Overall Winner Award: ParaBaseTec (Germany)
For its Para Golfer electronic wheelchair, which allows the disabled to participate in sports such as golf and archery.

Tactel Style Award: km/a (Austria)
For its white functional sportswear made with Tyvek.

Teflon Sportswear Award: Radiator (Australia)
For its four-layer, superthin and superflexible surf suit collection.

Codura Bag Award: (Germany)
For its bags for the digital sports lifestyle.

Hytrel Hardware Summer Award: EABO (USA)
For its indoboard, a balance board for surfers.

Coolmax Hardware Accessories Award: Saddleco (USA)
For its "Flow" bike seat that prevents numbness.

Delrin Hardware Award: Rezotec (Germany)
For its 7TM, a tour safety telemark combination.

Thermolite Accessories Award: GeoView (Germany)
For its Vitaphone, an emergency-call system for outdoor sportsmen.