The British Fashion Council has announced that it will be awarding 20 designers with its New Generation Sponsorship, enabling them to show at its exhibition and on the runway at London Fashion Week next season.

The BFC established the New Generation scheme ( back in 1993, and has helped put on the map British designers including Alexander McQueen, Matthew Williamson, Julien McDonald, Sara Berman, Giles Deacon and Jonathan Saunders.

This time around Central St Martin’s graduates and Britain’s bright-young-things Krystof Strozyna and Meadham Kirchhoff (pictured above, a look from MK's SS08 collection) will receive catwalk sponsorship for the first time in February 2008, and designers Anna Vince, Charlotte Olympia, Justin Smith and Nicholas Kirkwood will each get their first exhibition sponsorship.

Others designers who have been awarded repeat New Generation sponsorship are Christopher Kane, Duro Olowu, Erdem, Louise Goldin, Marios Schwab and Todd Lynn. Recipients of repeat exhibition sponsorship include Emilio de la Morena, Peter Pilotto, Borba Margo, David David, Felder Felder, Hannah Marshall, House of Holland and Poltock & Walsh.

Topshop will continue to support the New Generation scheme for it’s 13th season, which will run from February 10-15, 2008.